“I Want to Go Faster!”: Teaching Transportation to Young Children

I recently found myself at a loss while teaching methods of transportation to my students. I wanted to make the whole experience fun and kinesthetic, but I wasn’t sure how to do that.

So I did a little research online and ended up stumbling on this gem of a song: “I Want to Go Faster.” I decided that it was too awesome to not incorporate into my lesson, so I did!

To make this lesson work, you’ll need flashcards of the following methods of transportation: bike, bus, car, train, plane and rocket (you can get those flashcards and more here – unfortunately rocket isn’t included in that set, but you can get it here). You’ll also need a way of playing video/audio (personal computer or TV screen), and obviously, students.

Start by showing the students the different methods of transportation flashcards. Have them repeat the words several times so that they can begin to associate them to their pictures. Once they seem to know most of the words you’ve presented them, have them do gestures for each flashcard as they yell out the words. For example, yell out “car!” and have them mime driving while they say “car” over and over. The gestures your students use are up to you!

The next step is very important: Students must learn to say “I ride on a bike.”; “I ride in a car/bus.”; “I ride on a train.”; “I fly in a plane/rocket.” Don’t worry too much if the students mix up on and in. That part’s not super important at this point. What you really want to focus on are the action words ride and fly. Once you feel that students are able to use these sentence patterns well enough, move onto the song!

First, show the video for “I Want to Go Faster” to the students (reminder: you can find that YouTube video here). Have them listen and get a sense of the rhythm. Next, try teaching them the segments of the song one by one. If you need the lyrics to the song, they’re below:

I ride on a bike,

I ride on a bike,

But I want to go faster,

Faster (x3)

I ride on a bus,

I ride on a bus,

But I want to go faster,

Faster (x3)

I ride in a car,

I ride in a car,

But I want to go faster,

Faster (x3)

Bike (x2)

Bus (x2)

Car (x2)

Train (x2)

Plane (x2)

Rocket (x2)

I ride on a train,

I ride on a train

But I want to go faster,

Faster (x3)

I fly in a plane,

I fly in a plane,

But I want to go faster,

Faster (x3)

10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1

GO!!!!

I fly in a rocket,

I fly into space,

In a rocket.

I fly in a rocket,

I fly into space,

In a rocket…

Once students are able to sing well enough, introduce the gestures they learned earlier into the song. Finally, have them sing it with the gestures, as the video plays.

You’ll see how much fun they have! The song is seriously catchy! And, as a bonus, your students will not only have learned methods of transportation, but also a new sentence pattern: “I ride/fly in/on…”

2 thoughts on ““I Want to Go Faster!”: Teaching Transportation to Young Children

  1. Pingback: Teaching Transportation: A Cool Craft Idea – My EFL experience

Leave a Reply

